Teacher Lee Briggs on technology in today's classroom. Brought to you by Weekly Reader.

Things I Am Thankful For

In the spirit of the season I have been reflecting on the good fortune that I have had in the last year.  And since I tend to think in lists, here are a few things I am thankful for:

  1. I am thankful for professional colleagues who are supportive of my ideas no matter how crazy they seem at first. I feel failure is just succeeding in finding things that don’t work, and they are patient with me as I wade through the mess of technology that is out there and attempt to bring them the best of what I try.
  2. I am thankful for a district that feels that technology is important. I know this because every year new teachers receive SMARTboards, laptops or tablets. They feel compelled to try new things because they know that I will help them with the transition. Their faith in my ability to help them is both terrifying to me and incredibly precious to me.
  3. I am thankful that I have a crew of students who come to school each day wanting to learn more. They come to class with an innate sense of wonder about the world around them and they feel my classroom is a both a great place to learn and a place where they can safely learn from failure.
  4. I am thankful for a supportive community. It takes quite a town to look at a classroom full of half-dismantled computers, telescopes, shovels, comic books, rockets, and a growing collection of ukuleles as a nurturing environment for their children. This town doesn’t judge a book by its cover or a teacher by the state of his room. They understand that classroom may be messy, but so is learning.
  5. I am thankful for the ability to work with a great publication like Weekly Reader, and the droves of teachers who read my blog (I hope) and put up with my ramblings. I know that even through you might not understand all the nutty things I promote or talk about, you at least appreciate the enthusiasm that everyone who works with children shares.
  6. I am thankful that the Pack is 10-0 and all is well in the world.

Thank you, good luck, go Packers, and have a great Turkey Day.

Comments on: "Things I Am Thankful For" (2)

  1. You had me till the Packers comment lol Signed A Bears Fan 🙂

  2. Thats ok Mrs. G, we might disagree on thanksgiving but at least our teams will be spending christmas together.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

