Teacher Lee Briggs on technology in today's classroom. Brought to you by Weekly Reader.

Whiteboards Win Again

Interactive whiteboards have been great for my instruction. I can never say enough about the whiteboard acts a magic window in my classroom, allowing me to make my lessons engaging and relevant to students who are increasingly plugged-in. What I discovered this last week was that a whiteboard can also be very useful in staff meetings.

One of the other great aspects of the interactive whiteboard is that you never have to erase it. There are no bad or outdated ideas on my SmartBoard. I only have to create a new page to move on to a new topic, and only have to go back a few pages to see what was on the board last week.

This came in handy during a scheduling meeting that took place last week. Despite it being the middle of July, everyone showed up and even I managed to pry myself off my hammock. Scheduling in a small school is always difficult, balancing the needs of gym, music, and art teachers, and the lunchroom staff, and still trying to create solid blocks for math and reading is complicated. Often, with all the grades represented in the meeting, it gets difficult to see the big picture and take everyone’s schedule into account.

Enter the whiteboard. Within a few minutes, our mobile SmartBoard was retrieved from the library, the blank schedule was copied into Smart Notebook, and for the rest of the meeting I played Vanna White, creating color-coded “blocks” of classes that we then moved around like pieces of a puzzle, until at last, they fit and (hopefully) the schedule was made.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

