Teacher Lee Briggs on technology in today's classroom. Brought to you by Weekly Reader.

First App-ressions

I have had some time now to play with my iPad now that summer school is out. Here are some of the apps that I have been using and how they have worked out:

Quickoffice HD: Quickoffice is an office suite for the iPad. It allows you to create, open and edit PowerPoint, Excel and Word documents. This is nothing new; Apple makes a wonderful product in its iWork line (Pages, Numbers, and Keynote) and several others. What I like about quick office is that instead of paying $10 each for Apple’s apps and thus paying $30 for a mobile version of office, I can pay $15 and get Quickoffice. It works very well and has lots of interesting features, such as working with Dropbox and Google docs.

GoodReader: GoodReader is a slightly intimidating but powerful program. It allows you to open more file formats than you can shake a stick at. It works with Dropbox and even has a feature where you can upload files to your iPad from any computer on your network. My favorite feature? It allows you to mark up your PDFs and save them. Finally, a way to fill out worksheet masters and forms!

Feeddler: A great little app that syncs with my Google Reader account. It lets me search all my RSS feeds and keep up to date with what’s going on in the world. Basically it has made my iPad into my morning paper.

BlogPress: BlogPress is an app that allows me to directly post information to my WordPress blog on the fly. From wherever I might happen to be I can type up a post, attach a photo and send it to the blog.

Dropbox: Absolutely vital for anyone with a mobile device. Dropbox makes sure that the files on my iPod, iPad, as well as the files on my work and home PC’s are all synced up. It doesn’t pay to spend a bunch of time writing something in Quickoffice and not have a place to save it.

Remoter VNC: Remoter lets me control any PC on my network, including the computer that is connected to my SmartBoard. It still does not work exactly the way I would like, with my tablet working seamlessly with my SmartBoard, but allows me to point, click, and type wirelessly from anywhere in my school.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

