Teacher Lee Briggs on technology in today's classroom. Brought to you by Weekly Reader.

It Feels Like Home

There is a week between when the school year ends in Greenwood, and when summer school starts. I am taking this time to get to know my newest toy.

My first computer was a Macintosh Classic that I bought from my father for $5. He was the district technology coordinator and was selling old stock. I wrote my high school papers on that 7-inch black and white screen before spending half a year flipping burgers to buy an iMac DV. The iMac would be replaced in college for an iBook G4. It was a few years’ later dear readers that I fell off the wagon. Teachers don’t have the kind of disposable income that college students do, and I caved and bought a netbook.

I undid this mistake a few weeks ago and bought a (refurbished) Macbook Pro, a tile-topped bistro set, and $20 worth of potted plants. I spent an afternoon on the deck today, using Boot Camp to allow my little Mac to boot into Windows, should I need it.

Let the summer begin.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

