Teacher Lee Briggs on technology in today's classroom. Brought to you by Weekly Reader.

A few weeks ago I blogged about how Amazon is allowing writers to self-publish work directly to the online Kindle store.  While part of me worries what will become of the written word when anyone can publish their great American novel, a much larger part of me was excited that young and very talented writers would have an outlet for their work.  A third and diabolical part of me wanted a cut of the profits and buy the MacBook I have been eyeing this year…

Well, I guess my ethics will remain intact.  Another blogger turned me on to the Gallery of Writing, a creation of the National Council of the Teachers of English.  This site allows students to browse work by other writers, and also to contribute their own work.

Teachers can even start a “local gallery” where a group of students can publish and gather their work online.  A digital shelf of student-created work available to the entire world. All of this is provided for free.

So much for being a Fagin of child-authored literature. I will have to settle for being “that teacher who lets us write novels.”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

